And so it begins………..

Not even the third post in and I already have been slacking for a week………….time to adjust my goal from daily blogging to at least once a week. Adjustments are good because it does not mean you are giving up but means that you are finding a better way to achieve your original goal but in smaller steps.

Smaller steps………something I have never been good at. I am one of those hyper-achieving people that goes big or goes home. There is no try, just do. Small steps are irrelevant. The only pace is fast. That is how I go to where I am today. I kept my nose to the grind stone and did not settle for good but went for great.

I had a friend ask me a year ago if I felt like I was over educating myself……………..Over educating? Is that even a thing? Why would someone not want to have all the education they could and better themselves? Why would they not want to make themselves as marketable to a future employer as they could? Why would someone not be the best at whatever they did? Over educating?? Upon him asking this I found myself becoming defensive and little hurt that he would ask such a question, but I was missing the question. He did not mean that I was over learning and over achieving, but that I was being so focused on school and getting another degree that I was pushing everything else aside and not having a life.

I am 24 years old with a masters degree and a career. Most people my age are trying to figure out what they want to do with their lives and taking those smaller steps to get there. They have social lives and are building memories while working on finding their places in life. They are traveling, having relationships and just being 24…………..I don’t know if I will ever know what it is like to just be 24. I have always been mature for my age. Never really spent time goofing off and just living because that never fit in with my plan or my goal in life. (Both of those things are non-existent today, because funny story, God’s plan always supersedes ours own.) So a social life has been pushed aside (it helps not being from here and having like 5 friends), relationships have been pushed aside, and just being my age has been pushed aside……..

So I was asked in Sunday school this morning what my goals were for this new year. One of the ones I said was to have more time for myself (and to have more of a social life). How am I going to do this? When I figure it out I will let you know. But I am going to do it. I am going to start being my age every once in a while. Getting out of my comfort zone and living a little. Having a social life, having a relationship (s), and just being 24. If you have any ideas of how I can do this please let me know because I will be flying blind šŸ™‚

Maybe you are the same boat. Have you been so consumed in something that you have neglected yourself or what really matters? If so I challenge you to make a goal and take those baby steps to make a change and do something different and uncomfortable with your life. There is so much more to life then being serious all the time and I can’t wait to figure it out.

~Jacqueline Alyse

One thought on “And so it begins………..

  1. Jacquie! I found your blog and I’m so excited – I’ve missed you! Congrats on your working on being your age… I’m learning to do that for the first time in my life at 28! It’s definitely a good thing. šŸ™‚ Love you, friend, and keep writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

