What is love? Baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more…….

Don’t let the title confuse you, no I am not in love, no I have not found the one in which my soul loves (well I don’t think so anyway).

Have you ever just met a person who is just great in every way? Like they are genuine and sweet and just talking to them makes you feel better?? Yeah me either…………..Ha just kidding but seriously? Have you met that person? I think I have met that person, maybe, I’m not really sure. Now before I get texts, messages, and phone calls, no I am not telling you who he is, where he is from, and what he does. I am not superstitious but I have a think about not getting my hopes up. I don’t talk about or introduce guys to my family or friends because in the chance it doesn’t work out (so far it hasn’t) I don’t want there to be disappointment or the awkward “do I have to delete him from Facebook since you guys broke up, because we are still friends?” thing. I think mainly I just don’t want to be hurt or be looking to far into something that is not really there………….

ANYWAY, enough of that…..I have never really been good at this whole dating thing. I blame my brothers partially for that and my high standards for the other part. Normally when I am talking to a guy, at this point I begin to find every possible thing that could be wrong so I slowly drift away. I don’t think that is high standards but back to that fear of being hurt. This fear has kept me from giving some great guys chances. This fear has saved me from giving awful guys chances….it is a real double edge sword.

So how do I get over this fear?!?!? Giving it to God is my best bet because if it is His will it will surely work out…….So that is what I am going to do. Give it to God, not pick a part and drift away……Here is to getting out of my comfort zone and giving this dating thing a real college try!

~Jacqueline Alyse

Leave a Reply

